Latest News
05 Aug 2014

Congratulations to the WBTV Winners of the 2014 NABJ Salute to Excellence Awards

WBTV is proud to acknowledge and congratulate reporter Steve Crump, anchor/reporter Christine Nelson and Chief Photographer Leighton Grant as winners in this year’s National Association of Black Journalists “Salute to Excellence” awards. WBTV continues to live “On Your Side” and is committed to reporting stories that matter to the Charlotte and surrounding communities in North and South Carolina that comprise the WBTV service area. These awards reflect that ongoing commitment.

The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) 2014 Salute to Excellence Awards competition honors work from print, television, radio, online, photojournalism, and public relations. Winners were announced Saturday, Aug. 2, at an annual gala celebration during NABJ's 39th Annual Convention and Career Fair in Boston, the largest gathering of minority journalists in the country. The WBTV team won in the following categories:

Television Market 16 and below

Television - General Assignment: Long Form
Redemption at Negro Head Creek
Steve Crump

Television - Feature: Short Form
Turning Trash Into Treasure
Steve Crump

Television - Specialty
The Perfect Match
Christine Nelson, Leighton Grant