Latest News
02 Mar 2015

Brad Streit Named Broadcaster of the Year

The Texas Association of Broadcast Educators has named Raycom Media Group Vice President Brad Streit Broadcaster of the Year. Streit received the award during a ceremony at Stephen F. Austin State University in Nacogdoches, TX, Friday, February 27, 2015.

Streit graduated from Stephen F. Austin State University in 1979 with a degree in radio/television communications and a minor in business. During his junior year, he began his TV career at KTRE in Lufkin, Texas. Through the years, Streit worked his way up through the ranks holding positions that included producer, director and eventually station manager of WBTI, KTRE and WLBT. In 1990, Streit took the reins as General Manager at KLTV in Tyler, TX. Under Raycom Media ownership, Streit added Regional Vice President responsibilities giving him oversight of multiple stations in the group. Streit's role was expanded to Group Vice President in 2009.

"The relationship between business and educators offers a unique opportunity to influence the future of aspiring broadcast careers," said Streit. "It is a privilege that my partners in this relationship across the state have honored me in this way."

"Brad is a valued and tremendous leader in our company," said Paul McTear, President and CEO of Raycom Media. "Congratulations to him for this well-deserved honor."

The Texas Association of Broadcast Educators represents the interests of professors and educators who teach broadcasting courses at universities and colleges across Texas. The group recognizes a broadcast professional each year who is a standout in the broadcast industry in Texas.